Skip to content

What’s the rush?

October 14, 2010

Do you every find yourself insanely busy?  Edward Hallowell, in his book “Crazy Busy” writes about how we tend to rush madly through our agenda without much time spent prioritizing these tasks.  So let’s be real.  We are never going to accomplish all that we feel necessary, so what gets pushed off the list?  When we collapse in bed tonight it may feel that we have left out some of the most important things in life — like connecting with friends and loved ones. I like the saying that “on our deathbed no one ever wishes they had spent more time at the office!”    Think about the things that are most important to you and make sure they – Don’t get lost in the rush!

2 Comments
  1. I always wake up with a million things I want to do, and then freak out because I know I can’t get all of them done, and then as soon as I know it I’m lying in bed at night hating myself because I didn’t get any of the things done. I spend all my time stressing out about being busy that I never get the stuff I should be busy with done.

    Okay, maybe that’s not entirely true. I do wake up with a million things to do, and then stress over it, but then I usually end up watching TV or listening to podcasts all day instead of working on the stuff I should be busy with.

    • Have you tried making a checklist at the start of the day. Be sure to put the most important things at the top and group things together that you can do at the same time. Don’t worry that you don’t get it all done. Nobody does. That’s why we need tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

